All about Madrid

The Madrid Metro (Spanish: Metro de Madrid) is the sixth longest metro in the world after London, New York, Moscow, Seoul and Shanghai, though Madrid is approximately the fiftieth most popular metropolitan area in the world. Its enormous growth in the last 20 years has also put it among the fastest growing networks in the world. Being one of the many successes Madrid has had in terms of transportation, the Madrid metro is fast, convenient and relaxing way to get around, with air conditioned, well-spaced and modern carriages, you will also notice that the metro is very secure with guards regularly seen patrolling.


Over 7,000 people work on the Metro Madrid to make it possible for around 3 million people to make their daily journeys in the most comfortable, quickest and safest way possible using a network which currently covers over 293 kilometers and has around 300 stations presently.

Madrid Metro

Maps of the Madrid Metro System can be found here: 


Format PDF     Format FLASH       Format TEXT


Today, the Metro network is divided in five regions:

MetroMadrid (zone A): the core network inside the Madrid city borders, with over two thirds of the overall length.

MetroSur (zones B1 and B2): Joaquín Vilumbrales and Puerta del Sur runs through the southern cities of Alcorcón, Leganés, Getafe, Fuenlabrada and Móstoles.

MetroEste (zone B1): a prolongation of line from Estadio Olímpico to Hospital de Henares through the municipalities of Coslada and San Fernando de Henares.

MetroNorte (zone B1): includes the stretch of line from La Granja to Hospital Infanta Sofía servicing the northern outskirts of Madrid and the towns of Alcobendas and San Sebastián de los Reyes. There is a train interchange inside the line at Tres Olivos station.

MetrOeste (zones B1 and B2): Connects the towns of Pozuelo de Alarcón and Boadilla del Monte to line at Colonia Jardín station.

The metro is operated by its own company, under the Department of Public Works, City Planning, and Transportation of the autonomous community of Madrid. The passage between Puerta de Arganda (Line 9) and Arganda del Rey (Line 9) is operated by Transportes Ferroviarios de Madrid (TFM). All of Madrid's rapid transit systems are members of the Consorcio Regional de Transportes, which sells monthly passes for unlimited use of the metro, bus and commuter train networks 

Madrid Time Now